Bookworm Burrow

Book reviews on over 125 different books from several different genres. Use the search or categories to see more.

Fever 1793 by Laurie Halse Anderson January 16, 2008

Filed under: Book Reviews,Books,Fiction,Historical Fiction,Juvenile — Julie @ 2:13 pm

fever-1793.jpgFever 1793 by Laurie Halse Anderson

Genre: Juvenile Historical Fiction

Published in 2000

Recommended Age Group: 12 and Up

Summary: Fever 1793 is about the yellow fever epidemic in Philadelphia that happened in the late summer of 1793. We follow the epidemic through Matilda Cook and her small group of family and friends. In the beginning of the book Matilda, her Mother, and her Grandfather ran a Coffee Shop. Matilda’s Mother is planning to get her married but Matilda already has her eye on Nathaniel Benson, a painter’s apprentice. They employed a cook, Eliza and a serving girl Polly. Matilda’s Mother got upset when Polly was late and made Matilda do all her chores which she was upset about until she learned that Polly had died mysteriously the night before. Rumors and gossip start to spread about a sickness and since they run the Coffee Shop Matilda and her family get to hear all about it. At first they don’t worry until they hear of more and more fever cases and of people leaving town to escape the fever. After the Mayor was certain it was Yellow Fever rules were set down and panic began. Matilda’s Mother got sick and Matilda and her Grandfather tried to leave town but the neighboring cities would not let them through.

After being stranded without food or water Matilda caught yellow fever and her Grandfather took her to a hospital of sorts to be treated. When they were released they went back to the Coffee Shop but Matilda’s Mother and Eliza were gone. Fearing the worst they shut themselves inside the house. That night thieves broke in and killed Matilda’s Grandfather but were scared away. Matilda wandered through the city alone and found a little girl named Nell with the body of her mother, a fever victim. She took the girl and found Eliza and together they took care of other sick and survived the fever. Nathaniel also survived the fever and he helped Matilda pick up the pieces from the Coffee Shop. All this time Matilda’s Mother was still missing and everyone began to worry that she died. She returned home in a huge gathering that followed President Washington back into town. They figured that if it was safe for him it was safe for everyone. The fever changed everyone greatly, some were better, some worse, but they were all different.

Personal Notes: Historical fiction is one of my favorite genres because I can learn while being entertained. One of the great things about this book is that in the back Anderson made a list of what was factual in the book and told more about each thing so the reader can separate the truth from the story. The story was very engaging and true to life. I enjoyed Matilda’s triumphs and growth through the book. I read the summary on Amazon before I bought the book and it didn’t do it justice. It’s a great read and a lot more fun than it sounds.

 

72 Responses to “Fever 1793 by Laurie Halse Anderson”

  1. Stephanie Says:

    I liked the book so much!! It is the best book I have ever read!!!!!! I hope you make a lot of better boooks. where ever you are I hope you are happy!!!!!! BYE

  2. shawn Says:

    this was the best book i ever read

  3. marisa Says:

    WOW that was the best book i ever read!!!!!

  4. marisa Says:

    it made me cry when her grandfather died it just touched me for some reason and i hope you keep writing great books for me to read.

  5. Jamie Web Says:

    I thought this was a great book. Tis book is good for children for all ages. I have read this book about 5 times now. I read it over and over again because it is filled with excitement, sorrow, happiness and adventure. I would definitely recommend this book to anyone. Excellent job Laurie Halse Anderson!

  6. Jade Says:

    This book was ok…. nothing to write home about but it was good however i found it a little dry. I like more 20th century books rather than old ones but it does give you something to think about

  7. roxie Says:

    omg!!!!! amazing….it was like the best books i have read soo far!!

  8. […] that happened in the late summer of 1793. We follow the epidemic through Matilda Cook …https://bookwormburrow.wordpress.com/2008/01/16/150/Fever 1793Content description: Content is Clean/Family Safe: Subtitle: A booktalk from Ms. […]

  9. Derra Says:

    Well, personally I absolutely hated this book! (No offense to Laurie Anderson). It was an assignment, I had to read it because I was going to be graded on it and i was going to be given a quiz on the novel. I struggled trying to read the whole book. I just wanted to set it on fire! Haha that’s how much I hated it. But that’s just me, whatever. People have different perspectives. Or maybe Im just not interested in book from over 200 freaking years ago!!!!

  10. Anonymous Says:

    woww!! i luv this book it is a very good book it made me cry a bit also but it was awesome!!!:)

  11. Anonymous Says:

    it stunk i hated it i had to read it for school dont read it its all sad and junk its a book tht makes you feel bad! don’t read it unless you like all sad and dopey stuff!

  12. caytalin Says:

    that was an amazing book….i loved it…is speak really that great of a book…i started reading it and it was boring how much more do i have to read till it gets interesting??

    =D

    • Anonymous Says:

      it never gets interesting

      • Hot Headed Bookworm Says:

        well then you yourself must be a very interesting person because if you don’t think that hearing about a girl fighting, which no one can resist and winning the battle to stay alive is interesting then pray do tell me are you a very literate person? I am 12 years old and I appreciate good literature more than many peo!le including YOU! I suggest you go back to reading Mother Goose’s Nursery Rhymes

  13. Nathaniel webster Says:

    I loved this book it had such an amazing plot keep writing more great books Laurie =D

  14. sydney hite Says:

    i love daniel

  15. kieran Says:

    i love this book ! If you are thinking of reading it… READ IT!!!!!!!!!!

  16. Carrie Says:

    Well, i’m not gonna be a repeat like all the other people that commented this but i do have to say that this book was really great, i’m sorry but i have read more amazing books but this book is definantly in my top 5!! I strongly suggest evereone reads it! Its moving, happy and sad, fruitful and inviting. It really is a GREAT book!!=-D

  17. READ IT! Says:

    READDD IT NOW READ IT NOW READ IT NOW ITS GOOD ALL THOSE PEOPLE WHO SAID THEY HAD TO READ IT FOR SCHOOL ARE JUST FRUSTORATED BECAUSE THEY had TO SO JUST TAKE YOUR TIME AND READ IT WATCH YOULL FEEL LIKE YOUR A CHARICTOR READ IT GO A HEAD!

  18. elizabeth Says:

    that was a great book, but i thought it was sad, im only 11

  19. Lexiieeee Says:

    awsome boooookkkkkkkkkk

  20. michelle Says:

    it is wrilly cool but sad too!! :D:P

  21. jay Says:

    this book was good but the thing about it was that it was over 200 years ago!!!!!!!!!
    but never mind that it was pretty cool!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    • blah blah Says:

      You Know It Was Published In 2000. . . So. . .Yes It Was About Something That Happened About 200 Years Ago, But Don’t Judge It! It Was An Awesome Book!

  22. kaee moss Says:

    This book was very interesting. While reading it you can only imagine being one of the characters. I thought it was rather sad, but any kid should read this book. It teaches you about the past and what people long ago had to go throgh.

    My class just finished reading it, and now we have to do 3 projects on it. I’m not to fond of the projects, but it really was a great book. =) Hopefully I get around to reading Speak, and Twisted I hear they’re both really great books. Nice work!

  23. Betsy Says:

    it was different from all the books i have read. i finished today. the book made me think. but i could not put it down. It’s in my top 5. that is saying something. please do read it.

  24. blah blah Says:

    Oh my gosh! Awesome book Laurie :)!! Our teacher is reading it in class ( still haven’t finished it) but so far its AWESOME!!! I almost cried when the grandpa died, and it was HILARIOUS when the robbers were robbing their house and the fat one jumped out the window because he was scared xD! Mattie is so brave!It was so mean when the farmer just pushed them off the carriage or what ever. And it was gross when Mattie threw up blood when she fainted and when her mom threw up blood. Wow laurie i absolutely loved this book! ( so far ) :]

  25. Matthew Says:

    Im only 12 and I hate to read and this is one of the worst book I have ever read in my life. I don’t recommend this book to anybody 15 and under.

    Oh and one more thing whoever LOVES to read…you guys are faggets! LOL

    • Matthew Says:

      I said some harsh words about Fever the book and im sorry. Its not as bad as i said it was but it still is not a great book…its a good book!

  26. aaron Says:

    i didnt even read the book thats y im at thise site so i can get the summary for a test i have to take this week

  27. Lilli Colven Says:

    This was THE best book ever. So sorrowful, but so good. Read it in less than 4 hours. Just couldn’t but the book down. I HIGHLY recommend it.

  28. lesly Says:

    hey my name is lesly yuo got to read this book relly good i reded i am in middle school it is cool bey

  29. patrick Says:

    great book by far the best i read

  30. Anonymous Says:

    this is like the best book i ever read!!!! i luv it.=)

  31. K Says:

    This book was so good! i hope everyone reads this book!!!!!!! its so great!!!!!

  32. Anonymous Says:

    It was one of the best book i have ever read!

  33. max Says:

    GREAT BOOK!!!!!!! I had to read a history book for school i chose this one. very sad when the grandpa dies I cried. Beginning was boring I almost stopped reading it (that was a bad decision). End was very good kinda hard when you are 10

  34. jackie Says:

    I love this book it is so good i am reading it for book clubs in school (i am in 5th grade) LOVE IT ❤

  35. carlos Says:

    this book was the best i ever read in my intire life this is the first book that i ever read

  36. lola Says:

    this book is SO GOOD i actually felt like one of the characters in the book!!!!!-once that u feel like that u know that u are reading qa good book!!!!!

  37. Ali Says:

    I can’t believe it! Looks can really be deceiving! We were assigned different books and i got this one. I read the back, but I still didn’t think that it was going to be interesting. But when i read it, i thought…”WOW! BEST BOOK OF THE MONTH!” Great story!! Loved it!! 🙂

  38. ethen Says:

    My class and i read the book it was GREAT iwant my own iam going to beg my mom to get me one

  39. asi Says:

    well I sortove liked this book and I’m reading this book for school and who ever is reading this book for school I know how u feel “but I like it a little but I have to get into the book fitst but who ever is reading this book just get into the book before u deside not to read it.That’s waht I did well.I know I wrote tooo mutch but I just wanted 2 tell u all that r reading this book “too take my advise and I’m 12 years old and I go to Grays creek middle school 7th grade well I hope u listend to me
    well BYE

  40. sami Says:

    at first i didnt like it but then it started to get good,and i cryed when her grandfather died i read it at class and it is such a good book i can read it all the time its one of my # 1 book ever!

  41. Pooja Says:

    This book is awesome cause it feels like real!!

  42. Pooja Says:

    this book is awesome!!!

  43. books Says:

    I loves this book!! It was sad that her GRandfather died, but I was glad that her mother lived. I recommend this book to EVERYONE under the sun!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  44. Beth Says:

    I liked this book… but I wish I had read it when I was younger. I’m in 8th grade and had to read this for school. It was okay, but I think the book is meant for a younger group. Overall, I liked it because I live in Philly and thought it was interesting to read about the history of the city.

  45. Ashley Says:

    great book! you forgot about how Matty is running the coffee shop along side Eliza.

  46. vfugghyighj Says:

    i not finish it yet

  47. mariitzaahh♥ Says:

    diizz iss one of dee bestt bookzz ii havee evahh readd(:

  48. Allison Says:

    My daughter had to read this book for school and she enjoyed it a lot more than she think she would. Her older and younger siblings read it and also loved it. I definitely suggest this book to anyone ages 9- whenever. I even read this book and loved it, my daughter cried. It was very exciting and a fun read.

  49. Anonymous Says:

    I loved this book! It was so descriptive and very deep;i felt like i was right there during each event

  50. Anonymous Says:

    i loved this book! I read it 2 years aago for fun and i have to do it for my project this year. It was so deep;i almost felt like i was there during each event, the good and the bad

  51. Savannah Says:

    This is was a really good book!!!! 🙂 I loved it. It was easy to read and fun at the same time. I normally dont like reading but I did like this book!

  52. marisa Says:

    i picked this book up in 3rd grade and read it. I LoVED IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! it was the best book i have ever read in my entire life. Now, im in sixth grade, i decided to read it again. I still love it!!!!!!!!!! It’s amazing how a 3year span can still make me have the same feelings for it.

  53. Anonymous Says:

    I cry every time i read this book): It breaks me every time, i love it so much, best book ever </3

  54. Anonymous Says:

    I Totally Cried When Matilda Asked About Nell’s Toy And She Said “Its Broken” And Then Matilda Asked Wut Was Wrong With Her Mom And Nell Said “She’s Broken Too”……That Was COMPLETELY Sad!!! And When Her Grandfather Died….That Was Sad Too…This Is Literally My FAVORITE Book!!!!

  55. Kate Says:

    This was a great book! Loved the historical details everyone should read it

  56. Anonymous Says:

    pretty good book

  57. julietsean@comcast.net Says:

    This book was so touching, I loved it so much.
    Oh and if anybody is gonna e-mail me, just don’t do it please.

  58. Anonymous Says:

    i liked this book. It was very sad!

  59. im reading it and as 6th graders were loving it. i think this book is really cool and sad but i love it.

  60. Anonymous Says:

    i loved this book soo much! keep writing more!

  61. Wenny Yuan Says:

    The book is very interesting. Once I read the book, I couldn’t stop. I am in elementary school still and I love books~!!!!!!!


Leave a Reply

